Welcome
Ministries
Formation
Youth
Congregations
Clergy
Administration
Contact Us

Episcopal Diocese of Southern Virginia
11827 Canon Blvd., Suite 101
Newport News, VA 23606-3071
757-423-8287 Main
800-582-8292 Toll Free
757-595-0783 Fax

Click here to contact us.

Click here for staff.

The diocesan offices are open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Click here for directions to the diocesan office.

Diocesan Staff
Diocesan Administrative Staff, what they do, and how to contact them.

 

The Rt. Rev. Susan B. Haynes
Click here for Bishop Haynes' page
(757) 213-3381
bishop@diosova.org

The Rev. Canon Roy Hoffman
Canon to the Ordinary

(757) 213-3390, rhoffman@diosova.org
Clergy should contact Roy when they are preparing to retire or before they enter a search process. Wardens or clergy can contact Roy for assistance with transition, for guidance on selecting a search consultant and transition pastor for the interim period, for help and resources on Letters of Agreement, Vestry retreats, Mutual Ministry Reviews, continuing education or sabbatical planning, or during a time of parish crisis or conflict.

The Rev. Canon Ed Tracy
Canon for Administration

(757) 213-3378, etracy@diosova.org
Contact Ed for assistance regarding: insurance and benefits, planning and oversight of Annual Council; administrative support to the Executive Board, Nominating Committee, and Commission on Ministry; diocesan properties; and the Chanco Board.

The Rev. Canon James Harlan
Canon Evangelist
(757) 213-3388, jharlan@diosova.org
Contact James regarding support for Evangelism and other growth, vitality, and justice initiatives for your congregation; diocesan communication strategy and support for discovering ways to enhance your congregation’s messaging and digital ministry.

Canon Lynn Farlin
Canon for Formation

(757) 213-3377, lfarlin@diosova.org
Contact Lynn for assistance with: Christian Formation resources for clergy, staff and congregations, Anti-Racism Task Force, Commission on Aging, Safe Church programs, scholarship funds, training and consultations for parishes, Christian Education Network, Commission on Ministry Committee on the Ministry of the Baptized.

Fr. Willis Foster
Canon for Diversity
Contact Willis for assistance with creating programs that will facilitate an environment where hard conversations on Social Diveristy and Social Justice can be had.
(757) 510-5901, wfoster@diosova.org

Megan Dern
Youth and Young Adult Missioner

(757) 213-3393, mdern@diosova.org
Contact Megan for assistance with: youth ministries, young adult ministries, campus and college ministries, parish consultations, training and formation for adults who work with youth, diocesan youth programs and events.

The Rev. (Padre) Mario Meléndez
Chaplain for Latino/x Ministries
(757) 427-0963, mmelendez@diosova.org
Contact Padre Mario for resources and information for establishing or cultivating Latino/x ministries. (He also serves as Episcopal chaplain and co-pastor at Holy Apostles, Virginia Beach)

Leah Sicignano
Bishop’s Executive Secretary

(757) 213-3381, lsicignano@diosova.org
Contact Leah for assistance with: appointments with the Bishop, Bishop’s visitation / Confirmation schedule, clergy licensing, lay ministry licensing, certification of lay delegates & alternates to Council, non-parochial reports, remarriage permissions, postulants & candidates for ordination, seminarians.

Susan Allen
Administrative Assistant to the Canons

(757) 213-3391, sallen@diosova.org
Contact Susan for assistance with: health insurance and pension, clergy background checks, clergy conferences, clergy continuing education grants, Commission on Ministry, congregations in search, diocesan resource library, Fresh Start, letters of agreement, Ordination Exploration, Safe Church, Certificates of Lay Delegates and Alternates and registration for diocesan events, including Annual Council.

Judy Dobson
Comptroller

(757) 213-3386, jdobson@diosova.org
Contact Judy for assistance with: parochial reports, Diocesan Foundation Composite Fund payments and withdrawals, diocesan budget, 501c3 (IRS non-profit status), and general financial questions.

Hope Leach
Financial Assistant

(757) 213-3374, hleach@diosova.org
Contact Hope for assistance with: parish audits, parish pledges, reimbursements, IRS mileage rate.

Ben Urquidi
Communications Specialist

(757) 423-8287 x314, burquidi@diosova.org

Chris Ochillo
Data Entry Assistant

(757) 423-8287 x316, dataentry@diosova.org

 

Last Published: November 11, 2021 10:04 AM