Contact Us

Episcopal Diocese of Southern Virginia
11827 Canon Blvd., Suite 101
Newport News, VA 23606-3071
757-423-8287 Main
800-582-8292 Toll Free
757-595-0783 Fax

Click here to contact us.

Click here for staff.

The diocesan offices are open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Click here for directions to the diocesan office.

Welcome to Southern Virginia!
The Episcopal Diocese of Southern Virginia includes approximately thirty thousand Episcopalians in 104 congregations between the Dan River and the Eastern Shore. We are a diocese of The Episcopal Church in the United States, a province of the Worldwide Anglican Communion.
Annual Council, Constitution & Canons, Executive Board, Standing Committee


The Episcopal Church

The Episcopal Church official website

The Most Reverend Michael Bruce Curry, Presiding Bishop

Constitution & Canons of The Episcopal Church

General Convention

Southern Virginia's 2018 General Convention blog

Southern Virginia is a part of Province III of the Episcopal Church


Our Bishop

The Rt. Rev. Herman "Holly" Hollerith IV, bishop@diosova.org

Click here for Bishop Hollerith's Visitation Schedule.


Annual Council

126th Annual Council, February 16-17, 2018

125th Annual Council, February 10 & 11, 2017

124th Annual Council, February 5 & 6, 2016

123rd Annual Council, February 6-7, 2015

122nd Annual Council, February 7 & 8, 2014

The Journal of Council is available by contacting the Diocesan office.


Canons & Constitution

CLICK HERE for the Canons &  Constitution of the Diocese of Southern Virginia (2018)

CLICK HERE for the Canons & Constitution of The Episcopal Church USA (2015)


Diocesan Officers

The Rev. Ralph E. Haines, III, Secretary to the Diocese

Mr. Tim Coyle, Chancellor

Mr. Samuel Webster, Vice Chancellor

 The Rev. Anne Kirchmier, Treasurer Pro tem

The Rev. William Taylor, Historiographer

Standing Committee

The Rev. Conor Alexander, 2019, St. Francis', Virginia Beach - President
Mr. Scott Norris, 2019, Emmanuel, Jenkins Bridge
The Very Rev. Susan Grimm, 2020, St. Timothy's, Clarksville & Trinity, South Boston
Ms. Martha Easton, 2020, Bruton Parish, Williamsburg
The Very Rev. Stan Sawyer, 2021, All Saints, Virginia Beach
Mr. John Rector, 2021, St. Paul's, Suffolk

Executive Board

Click here for information about the Executive Board and current members.


Our Diocesan Norms




Last Published: October 24, 2018 8:22 AM