Contact Us

Episcopal Diocese of Southern Virginia
11832 Rock Landing Dr., Suite 100
Newport News, VA 23606-4231
757-423-8287 Main
800-582-8292 Toll Free
757-595-0783 Fax

Click here to contact us.

Click here for staff.

The diocesan offices are open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Click here for directions to the diocesan office.

124th Annual Council (2016)


Continuing the Sacred Conversation:
Racial Justice and the Role of the Church

February 5 & 6, 2016 at the Williamsburg Lodge Convention Center

Bishop Hollerith's address to Council

Keynote speaker: The Very Rev. Mike Kinman

Mike KinmanThe keynote speaker for this year's Annual Council is the Very Rev. Mike Kinman, dean of Christ Church Cathedral in St. Louis, MO. Following the Ferguson police killing of Michael Brown, Jr., Kinman was an advocate for the Black Lives Matter movement and provided sanctuary for the movement at Christ Church Cathedral. “As a church leader, I go where I see Christ,” Kinman told The St. Louis American in an interview. “And right now, I see Him in the young people. I see Him in the young people non-violently leading this movement.” Click here to learn more about Kinman.

Recordings of the Keynote sessions are available upon request. Contact Ann Turner, aturner@diosova.org or 757-213-3388.

Slides for Keynote session 1

Notes for Keynote session 1

Slides for Keynote session 2


Sandye WilsonHoly Eucharist at Annual Council

Preacher: The Rev. Canon Dr. Sandye A. Wilson, rector of St. Andrew and Holy Communion Episcopal Church in South Orange, New Jersey. She has served with Presiding Bishops Allin, Browning, Griswold and Jefferts Schori on the National Executive Council for 18 years. She is a member of the Episcopal Church's national Standing Commission on Liturgy and Music. Wilson was National President of the Union of Black Episcopalians from 1997-2004 and president of Province VI of the Episcopal Church from 2001-2004. Click here to learn more about Wilson.

Minor Liturgies

Council Eucharist


Schedule of Events and Delegate Materials

Schedule of Events

Resolution C-1

Resolution C-2

Rules of Order

Order of Business

Seat and Voice

Bishop's Nominations

Bishop's Appointments

Executive Board and Deans

Nominations for Election

Proposed Budget

Status of Parishes & Missions

Minutes of 2015 Annual Council

Dining Options while at Annual Council


Budget Passed by Annual Council

Click here for the Budget as passed by Council.


Elections at the 124th Annual Council

The following elections took place at Council:

Standing Committee: The Rev. Conor Alexander, Mr. Scott Norris

Disciplinary Board: The Rev. Dale Custer, The Rev. Susan Grimm, Mr. Matthew White

Provincial Synod: The Rev. Frederick Walker, Ms. Andrea Morgan




Last Published: February 15, 2017 10:50 AM