Contact Us

Episcopal Diocese of Southern Virginia
11832 Rock Landing Dr., Suite 100
Newport News, VA 23606-4231
757-423-8287 Main
800-582-8292 Toll Free
757-595-0783 Fax

Click here to contact us.

Click here for staff.

The diocesan offices are open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Click here for directions to the diocesan office.

125th Annual Council (2017)


February 10-11, 2017
Williamsburg Lodge Convention Center


Stewardship: It's not about money... It's about relationships

Tim Dombek 2Keynote Speaker: The Rev. Canon Timothy Dombek
Canon for Stewardship in the Diocese of Arizona, and Priest in Charge of Church of the Advent in Sun City West, Arizona. Dombek serves as an officer of The Episcopal Network for Stewardship and has created an online Stewardship University called “Stew U.” He will give two presentations at Annual Council: It's Not about the Money: Relational Stewardship; Pledge Data that Matters; One Easy Way to Begin Planned Giving.

Canon Dombek's presentations and other resources are on the Stewardship resources page.

Bishop's Address to Council

Click here for Bishop Hollerith's address to the 125th Annual Council.

Elections made by Council

Standing Committee:
Lynn Farlin, Ascension, Norfolk
The Very Rev. Susan Grimm, St. Timothy's, Clarksville & Trinity, South Boston

Disciplinary Board:
John Rector, St. Paul's, Suffolk
The Rev. Ronald Ramsey, St. Cyprian's, Hampton
The Rev. Stewart Tabb, Ascension, Norfolk

Provincial Synod:
Gay Forloine, Hickory Neck, Toano

General Convention:
Lay Deputies: Sam Webster, Ascension, Norfolk; Alice Webley, All Saints, Virginia Beach; Toni Hogg, St. John's, Hampton; Isabel Burch, Bruton Parish, Williamsburg.
Lay Alternates: Matthew White, St. David's, Chesterfield; Cara Kinsey, Emmanuel, Chatham
Clergy Deputies: Julia Messer, Eastern Shore Chapel, Virginia Beach; Willis Foster, St. Stephen's, Petersburg; Samantha Vincent-Alexander, St. John's, Hampton; Cameron Randle, St. George's Parish on the Eastern Shore
Clergy Alternates: Dale Custer, St. John's, Chester; Ronald Ramsey, St. Cyprians', Hampton; Jennifer Andrews-Weckerly, Hickory Neck, Toano; Mark Wilkinson, St. Aidan's, Virginia Beach


Resolution C-1 PASSED - Resolution C-1
Resolution R-1 - WITHDRAWN - Resolution R-1
General Convention Resolutions - PASSED AS READ - GC Resolutions

Delegate Materials

Liturgies at Council


Exhibitors at Council

Exhibitors at this year's Annual Council include: Parish Book Store, Union of Black Episcopalians; Bruton Parish Shop; Epiphany Studios; African Team Ministries; Crafts from Jerusalem; BK Textiles; GraceInside; VIPCare; Ministering to Ministers Foundation; Tri-Diocesan Council on Aging; Mission of the Holy Spirit; Jackson-Feild Behavioral Health Services; Episcopal Relief & Development; Cursillo; Episcopal Church Women.

Last Published: January 30, 2018 7:48 AM