Contact Us

Episcopal Diocese of Southern Virginia
11827 Canon Blvd., Suite 101
Newport News, VA 23606-3071
757-423-8287 Main
800-582-8292 Toll Free
757-595-0783 Fax

Click here to contact us.

Click here for staff.

The diocesan offices are open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Click here for directions to the diocesan office.

126th Annual Council (2018)

The 126th Annual Council will be held February 16-17, 2018 at the Williamsburg Lodge Convention Center in Williamsburg, VA.

Fear and Love in a Divided World

scott_badersayeKeynote Speaker: Scott Bader-Saye, Ph.D.

Scott Bader-Saye is the Academic Dean and Helen and Everett H. Jones Professor of Christian Ethics and Moral Theology at Seminary of the Southwest in Austin, Texas. His publications include two books, Following Jesus in a Culture of Fear and Church and Israel After Christendom. He has contributed chapters to The Blackwell Companion to Christian Ethics and The Cambridge Companion to the Gospels, as well as having published articles in journals such as The Journal of the Society of Christian Ethics, Modern Theology, Studies in Christian Ethics, Pro Ecclesia, Cross Currents and Christian Century. Dr. Bader-Saye earned his AB at Davidson College, his M.Div. at Yale Divinity School, and his Ph.D. at Duke University.

Registration & Hotel Reservations

Click here to register for Annual Council. You may register individually or you may register your entire delegation. Early registration through January 12, 2018 is $125 per attendee. Clergy spouses/partners, youth aged 18 and younger, and college students may register at the $50 rate. Payment is due no later than Jan. 12, 2018 to avoid a $25 late registration fee.

Scholarships are available for churches that need assistance to pay for Council registration fees. If you would like more information about scholarships, please contact Susan Allen, sallen@diosova.org or 757-213-3391.

Information and registration for exhibitors is here.

All registrants are responsible for their own hotel reservations. Discounted rates are available at the Williamsburg Lodge and The Woodlands. You may call toll-free 800-261-9530 to make your reservations or click here to make reservations online. Reference block code ED2 to obtain the special conference room rate. If calling, please note that the conference reservations office is open Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Make your reservations before January 15, 2018 to insure room availability and discounted price guarantee.

Click here for the diocesan Event Registration & Refund Policy. Cancellations received after February 2, 2018 will not be refunded.

The Episcopal Diocese of Southern Virginia serves the entire community and welcomes people with special needs.  Please contact Susan Allen at sallen@diosova.org or 757-213-3391 at least one week prior to the event with special needs requests.

Pre-Council Convocation Meetings

As they are scheduled, Pre-Council Convocation meetings will be posted here.

  • Convocation 3 - Sunday, January 21, 2 p.m. at St. Andrew's, Norfolk
  • Convocation 5 - Tuesday, January 23, 7 p.m. at St. Cyprian's, Hampton
  • Convocation 7 - Monday, January 22, 7 p.m. at Manakin Church, Midlothian

Delegate Materials

As they become available, delegate materials will be posted here.

Nominations for Election at Council

The following elections will take place at Annual Council:

  • Standing Committee - one lay, one clergy
  • Disciplinary Board - two lay, one clergy
  • General Convention - one lay alternate (young adult)

Click here for a Nomination Form. (This form is a fillable PDF file. In order to complete the form on your computer, you must save it to your computer, then open and complete it.). Click here for information about the positions up for election.

Youth Delegation to Council

Every year a special delegation of 12 youth in grades 9-12 are invited to attend Diocesan Council. This weekend is a fantastic opportunity to learn about the Episcopal Church, to find out more about the life of our diocese, to participate in and help to lead worship, to hear inspiring keynote speeches, to meet new friends, and to serve the church. Applications are due by January 19, 2018. Click here to apply.

Communicators Credentials

Church communicators play an important role in connecting their Convocations and congregations with Council while it is in session and afterward. To help facilitate this work, the Council registration fee is waived for church communicators who submit this application form no later than February 2, 2018. NOTE: This is a fillable form PDF file. In order to complete the form on your computer, you must first save the file on your computer. Once it is saved, you can open and complete the form. You may also simply print the form, fill it in and mail or fax it.

Certification of Lay Delegates and Alternates for 2018 Council

The Certificate of Lay Delegates and Alternates for Annual Council is due by June 30, 2017. Your Vestry should elect delegates and alternates for Council year 2017-2018. The number of delegates for each congregation is determined by the number of communicants in good standing (see line 5) listed in your 2016 Parochial Report. Your vestry should elect the delegates and alternates form your congregation will will serve from July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2018. Immediately following their election, submit your Certificate of Lay Delegates and Alternates to the Diocesan office, no later than June 30, 2017. Click here for more information and the Certificate to be completed. NOTE: The Certificate is a fillable form PDF file. In order to complete the form on your computer, you must first save the file on your computer. Once it is saved, you can open and complete the form. You may also simply print the form, complete and mail it.

Last Published: December 12, 2017 1:38 PM